The Harvey County Health Department provides basic physicals for children. Children’s health is important. Many childcare organizations and schools require that children receive a physical before they can enroll.
- Check-ups for children: Kan-Be-Healthy, Head Start, day care, pre-school and kindergarten
- Physical includes lab tests, hearing, vision, speech, immunization updates, lead, and developmental screening
- Call the Harvey County Health Department at 316-283-1637 for an appointment.
Maternal and Infant ServicesProvides extra support to pregnant women, infants and children. Maternal and Infant services offer support and education to qualifying parents:
- Home or clinic visits by a Registered nurse
- Pregnancy education
- Infant care
- Breastfeeding education
Call 316-283-1637 for an appointment.
NEW MOM? EXPECTING? Sign up for free Text4Baby. https://www.text4baby.org/
Healthy Start Home Visitor Program
Provides assistance to new parents at their home
Healthy Start is a statewide initiative designed to decrease the risk of pregnancy and improve birth outcomes for all pregnant women, and decrease the risk of death or impairment for all infants.
FREE Healthy Start Home Visits includes:
- Welcome Baby hospital visits for first time parents and teen parents
- Visits to pregnant women and parents of children up to the age of five
- Assistance to first time parents in developing strong, nurturing families and healthy, thriving children with a voluntary home visiting program
- Connecting families with community agencies to meet their individual needs
- Providing support and information on pregnancy and child development
Child Passenger Seat Fitting Station
Instructs parents on how to correctly install their child safety seat
Are Your Kids SAFE?
According to Safe Kids USA, 96% of parents believe they install their child safety seat correctly. Unfortunately, 82% of children placed in child safety seats are improperly restrained. Is your child one of them? Harvey County Health Department can help you ensure that your child is safe.
- The Harvey County Health Department is a fitting station for child passenger safety seats.
- Call 316-283-1637 for an appointment with certified child passenger safety technician.
- Check out this website for additional seat check information: SeatCheck.org
Enforcement of Kansas booster seat law:
Safe Kids Kansas is reminding parents that a change in the enforcement of the Kansas booster seat law took effect on July 1, 2007, when warnings for violations of the booster seat law were replaced by citations carrying a fine of $60 plus court costs. For more information about carseat rules and regulations visit www.kansasboosterseat.org.The Kansas child passenger safety law requires that children be secured in an appropriate child passenger safety restraint, using the following guidelines:
- Children under age 2 and 30 lbs. must ride in a rear-facing child seat.
- Children ages 2 (who are over 30 lbs), and and above must be properly restrained in a forward-facing child seat.
- Children ages 4, 5, 6 and 7 must ride in a booster seat unless the child weighs more than 80 pounds or the child is taller than 4 feet 9 inches.
- Children ages 8 through 13 must be protected by a vehicle safety belt.
Safe Kids Kansas, Inc. is a nonprofit Coalition of 67 statewide organizations and businesses dedicated to preventing accidental injuries to Kansas children ages 0-14. The lead agency for Safe Kids Kansas is the Kansas Department of Health and Environment. For more information visit www.kansassafekids.org.