BOARD OF HARVEY COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

June 23, 2008

The Board of Harvey County Commissioners met in regular session on June 23, 2008 with all three Commissioners present. Chairman Krehbiel called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.

ITEMS ADDED TO AGENDA:

1. Commissioner Krehbiel brought up the issue of allowing fireworks being shot off in Harvey County this year. Since it is too close to July 4 this year, they tabled this item until a later date.

CALENDAR ITEMS:

- June 24 CDDO meeting County Commission Room 4 5:30
- July 11 Public and Private Partnership meeting at Charlie's Restaurant

Minutes of the June 16, 2008 Commission meeting were corrected and approved upon a motion by Commissioner Westfall, seconded by Commissioner Roberson. Motion passed unanimously.

ADMINISTRATIVE ITEMS:

- 1. Annette Graham introduced the Area Plan on Aging. Changes were explained and the Commissioners asked questions. Commissioner Roberson moved that they authorize the Sedgwick County Commissioners to sign the Area Plan, Commissioner Westfall seconded. Motion passed unanimously.
- 2. Scott Davies and Greg Nye gave a report on the meetings of the Dam Breech Board. Greg reported that the property owners expressed satisfaction with the negotiations.
- 3. Local Environmental Protection Grant Agreement for 2009. Commissioner Westfall made a motion for the chairman to sign the Grant Agreement for 2009, Commissioner Roberson seconded. Motion passed unanimously.
- 4. Becky Noble displayed three awards presented by the County Treasurer's Association to Becky for 90 hours of continued study.
- 5. Craig Clough presented the contract by McCully Association to continue consulting services for Harvey County. The Contract amount for 2009 is \$25,200. Commissioner Roberson moved that the Board of Commissioners sign the contract, Commissioner Westfall seconded. Motion passed unanimously.
- 6. Harvey County Community Corrections Advisory Board reappointments.

 Commissioner Roberson made a motion to reappoint Ron Krehbiel and Roseallo Arellano for another 2-year term. This was the first reading.
- 7. Greg Nye gave an update on the tax foreclosure sale coming in July 16.

CITIZENS FORUM:

No one was present for Citizens Forum.

Warrant checks were approved upon a motion by Commissioner Westfall, seconded by

Minutes of Board of Harvey County Commissioners June 23, 2008 Page 2 of 2		
Commissioner Roberson. Motion passed unanimously.		
Mickey represented the Economic Development Council and introduced Board members, Dennis LaFevre, Steve Lang from Burrton, and Roger Ahrens. They presented the Economic Development Council budget in the amount of \$85,648.		
Mickey Dean presented the Highway 50 Funding Request. The general consensus is that Highway 50 should be 4 lanes from Emporia to the state line. She is looking at a proposal to work with our portion of the project. Total cost of \$20,500 east coast to west coast in Harvey County with a complete interchange between Highway 50 and 135. Commissioner Roberson moved that the Board sign off on the Highway 50 System Enhancement program by hiring Troy Carlson, Commissioner Westfall seconded. Motion passed unanimously.		
CDDO budget request was presented by Elizabeth Schmidt, Executive Director of the CDDO. The fund request was the same as last year, \$100,000.00.		
The 2009 Harvey County Extension budget was presented by Joni James and Mike Weber. Commissioner Westfall made the motion to approve the K-State Research and Extension Council budget, Commissioner Roberson seconded. Motion passed unanimously.		
The Commission reconvened at 1:15 p.m.		
The 2009 Solid Waste Budget was presented by Roy Patton and Craig Simons.		
Commissioner Westfall made a motion to adopt Resolution 2008-10 setting a service fee for Solid Waste Facilities and setting the manner of collection of the solid waste fee, Commissioner Roberson seconded. The motion passed unanimously.		
Commissioner Westfall made a motion to adjourn, Marge Roberson seconded. Motion passed unanimously.		
BOARD OF HARVEY COUNTY COMMISSIONERS		

	Chairman	
ATTEST:	Member	
County Clerk	Member	