The Noxious Weed Department uses herbicides along road rights-of-way to control weeds declared noxious by the State of Kansas. In addition, the department trims trees along Harvey County roads and bridges.

State law articles 13,2-1314 to 2-1332 states, all landowners must control and eradicate noxious weeds on their property. The weeds declared noxious in the State of Kansas are:

  • Kudzu
  • Field Bindweed
  • Russian Knapweed
  • Hoary Cress
  • Canada Thistle
  • QuackGrass
  • Leafy Spurge
  • Bur Ragweed
  • Pignut
  • Musk Thistle
  • Johnsongrass
  • Sericea Lespedeza

The County contracts with Townships and KDOT to spray their roads.

Herbicides, for noxious weeds only, can be purchased at the Noxious Weed office between 2 p.m. and 3:30 p.m., Monday through Friday.