The Harvey County Commission meets at 9 a.m. every Monday unless otherwise noted in the weekly agenda. Meetings are held in the commission room on the first floor of the Harvey County Courthouse, located at 800 N. Main St. in Newton.

The meetings provide the commissioners the opportunity to hear feedback from the public, as well as vote on county policies, regulations, and other items. It is the job of the Board of Harvey County Commissioners to decide overall policy for Harvey County, determine the annual budget, determine overall long-range plans for Harvey County, make employment decisions on non-elected department heads and to manage County property.

The commissioners are responsible for appointing members of certain county boards such as the Regional Planning Commission, the Council on Aging, the Park Advisory Board and more. Citizen advisory boards provide important input to the commission to aid in policy and decision making.

The county commission also does other tasks required by statutes or by county business. The commission is elected for four-year terms by districts in Harvey County.

You can find the most recent or upcoming meeting agenda, look through past meeting minutes and subscribe to receive the upcoming meeting agenda in your email inbox as soon as it is published by following the icons below to our supplemental website hosted by iCompass.  

meetingsportal small     subscribe small

George A. "Chip" Westfall
First District
Commissioner George Chip Westfall

  • Aviation Board
  • REAP Board
  • Public-Private Partnership
  • Fairgrounds Site Development Committee
  • KLP Development Authority Alternate
  • Chamber Breakfast Representative

Randy Hague
Second District
Commissioner Randy Hague
  • Public Building Commission
  • REAP Board Alternate
  • Coordinated Transit Board
  • Harvey County Council of Governments
  • KLP Development Authority
  • Local Emergency Planning Commission

Ron Krehbiel
Third District
Commissioner Ron Krehbiel

  • Board of Community Corrections
  • Regional Youth Advisory Board
  • Central KS Solid Waste Authority
  • Little Arkansas River Water Board (WRAP)