901 Gay crop


 Harvey County Sheriff Chad E. Gay


The mission of the Harvey County Sheriff's Office is to protect our communities by providing service, which will ensure that our county is a safe place to live, work, play and visit.  It is essential that we hold ourselves accountable to the highest ethical standards being committed to and demanding nothing less than excellence from ourselves.  We will strive as an organization to obtain and preserve the trust of the citizens we serve through an open and honest administration that emphasizes service to the citizens.  We are committed to this mission and will conduct our responsibility with dedication to the citizens we proudly serve.

"Travel the path of integrity without looking back, for there is never a wrong time to do the right thing."

Phone Numbers to contact divisions of the Sheriff's Office

  • Front Office 284-6960
  • Chaplain 284-6973
  • Civil Process 284-6964
  • Carry Conceal 284-6960
  • Coroner 284-6981
  • Detention Center 284-6959
  • Records and Reports  284-6987
  • Registered Offenders  804-8265

From the desk of Chad E. Gay

On January 9, 2017, the new Harvey County Sheriff, Chad Gay, was sworn into office by District Judge, Joe Dickinson. Undersheriff, Shawn Chapman was sworn in and the Sheriff's Office took on a new look. Sheriff Gay and Undersheriff Chapman have over 38 years combined experience in Law Enforcement.  Mark Hardtarfer Is the Sheriff's Office Chief Deputy. 

The Harvey County Sheriff's Office is on duty 24 hours a day, and seven days a week. As Officers, we are dedicated to the citizens we serve. We all want Harvey County to be a great place to live and raise our families.

Welcome to the Harvey County Sheriff's Office. The office of Sheriff is a very old one. It dates back to England over 1,000 years ago, when the Sheriff was a member of the royal family. The word sheriff is a combination of "shire," meaning county, and "reeve," meaning keeper of; which means the sheriff is the keeper of the county. The office came to the American continent with the first settlers. Although the image has changed, many of the duties remain the same.

In Kansas, the office of Sheriff was established before Statehood was achieved. In some areas of the Kansas Territory, the Sheriff was the only law enforcement. In 1855, general statutes for the Territory of Kansas set procedures for electing a Sheriff. When Kansas became a state in 1861, the office of Sheriff was among the first established. The Sheriff is elected by the citizens of his/her county for a four-year term. The Harvey County Sheriff's office is a modern, full service law enforcement agency. It is the duty of the Sheriff to keep and preserve the peace in their respective counties, protect life and property, prevent crime and enforce all state and county laws and resolutions, arrest violators and assist citizens when aid is needed.



Harvey County, which is located in south central Kansas, was formed in 1872. Since that time, 30 individuals have held the position of Sheriff. The county has a population of 34,200 people and encompasses 540 square miles, which includes 1,088 miles of roads. The county is more than 82 percent urban population, with 60.9 persons per square mile; nearly double the population density for Kansas as a whole. Of the 105 counties in Kansas, only 11 have population densities greater than that of Harvey County. Sheriff's deputies drive approximately 350,000 miles per year. The office consists of the Sheriff, Undersheriff, Chief Deputy, 3 investigators, 2 Road Deputy Sergeants, 2 Road Deputy Corporals, 8 road deputies, 1 Transport/Warrant Deputy,  20 detention deputies and 2 office deputies.

  • Sheriff Chad E. Gay
  • Undersheriff Shawn Chapman
  • Chief Deputy Mark Hardtarfer
  • Sergeant Scott Perkins
  • Sergeant Scott Motes
  • Corporal Tim Boese
  • Corporal Brandon Huntley
  • Detention Center Captain KC Kersenbrock
  • Detention Center Lt. Scott VanHorn

Tractor Vs. Train

Whenever approaching an open railroad crossing, slow down, check both directions on the rail before proceeding through the crossing. 

Heart to Heart Child Advocacy Center

Sheriff Walton was the founder of Heart to Heart Child Advocacy Center. Heart to Heart addresses the issues of child abuse. Heart to Heart is supported by the community and is available to all specialized trained officers to use in their investigation of child abuse. The Harvey County Sheriff's Office has three qualified Deputies who have gone through an intense one week training program to learn how to interview children. Heart to Heart is a non profit serving all the children and families of Harvey County as well as Marion and McPherson County. More information of Heart to Heart can be found on their web site at www.hearttoheartcac.com

Emergency Response Team (ERT)ERT

ERT was founded in 1990 as a collaborative effort among numerous agencies in Harvey County to address high risk incidents in our common jurisdiction. ERT's mission statement defines the unit as a life saving organization. ERT is not just a Harvey County Sheriff's Office or Newton PD operation. ERT serves all of the cities in Harvey County and even surrounding counties. ERT enjoys a respected reputation in this region of Kansas as a solid, well established and superbly performing unit.

Harvey County Deputies patrol the County 24 hours a day and seven days a week. 



Harvey County Sheriff's Office, 1938 - Sheriff Les Monroe (sitting), Undersheriff Harry Goodman (standing right side), and Deputy Bruce Walker (standing left side).

Thirty two Sheriffs have been sworn in the office of Harvey County Sheriff since the first election of May 20, 1872.

How many do you remember?

  1. 1872 - 1873 W.M. Chamberlain

  2. 1873 - 1874 C.A. Tracy

  3. 1874 - 1876 George Hagerty

  4. 1876 - 1878 S.D. Leonard

  5. 1878 - 1882 H.H. McAdams

  6. 1882 - 1886 John F. Wafer

  7. 1886 - 1890 James Ryan

  8. 1890 - 1894 E.E. Pollard

  9. 1894 - 1898 R.J. Judkins

  10. 1898 - 1899 W.E. Means

  11. 1900 - 1905 C.D. Masters

  12. 1905 - 1909 J.S. Blanpied

  13. 1909 - 1911 A.R. Ainsworth

  14. 1911 - 1915 E.W. Slaymaker

  15. 1915 - 1919 J.N. Smith

  16. 1919 - 1923 Will Patton

  17. 1923 - 1927 Carl E. Adams

  18. 1927 - 1931 J.M. McIntire

  19. 1931 - 1935 Frank Darney

  20. 1935 - 1939 Lester Monroe

  21. 1939 - 1943 Harry Goodman

  22. 1943 - 1947 Lester Monroe

  23. 1947 - 1951 Harry Goodman

  24. 1951 - 1955 Walter K. Rogers

  25. 1955 - 1959 Weldon K. Morford

  26. 1959 - 1963 Harry C. Cowan

  27. 1963 - 1967 Russell Werner

  28. 1967 - 1973 Norman Walker

  29. 1973 - 1990 Galen Morford

  30. 1990 - 2007 Byron L. Motter

  31. 2007 - 2009 AJ Wuthnow

  32. 2009 - 2017 T. Walton

  33. 2017-Present Chad E. Gay